National Institute of Technology Meghalaya

Institute Day

To be held on
Monday, April 1st, 2019 at 4.00 P.M.
At Institute Premises (Bijni Complex)

In presence of

Shri Sajjan Bhajanka,

Chairman, Board of Governors, NIT Meghalaya
Chairman, Century Plyboards (India) Ltd

Shri A. G. West Kharkongor,

Chairman & Managing Director, NEEPCO
Will be the Chief Guest

Prof. Abhijit Chakrabarti,

Dept. of Electrical Engineering, IIEST
Will be the Extramural Speaker & Guest of honour

The Chief Guest

Shri A. G. West Kharkongor

Shri A. G. West Kharkongor was appointed as the Chairman & Managing Director of NEEPCO w.e.f. 29.08.2016. Prior to this, he was holding the charge of Director (Finance) of NEEPCO Ltd. from 19-08-2010. He is an alumnus of IIT, Bombay as well as IIM, Calcutta. Shri A. G. West Kharkongor is an experienced Finance professional having worked in various areas of the Finance & Accounts Department of the Corporation including Treasury, Internal Audit, Budgeting, Taxation, Compilation, Fund mobilization etc. During his tenure as General Manager (Finance), he successfully mobilized funds for several on-going projects including a Structured Syndicated Term Loan of Rs.800 crs. Before joining the Corporation in 1993 he had worked in Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd. He is a member of Finance Committee of the Tezpur University, Assam. He was also a Member (Finance) of Damodar Valley Corporation. He is keenly involved in community and societal activities.

Extramural Speaker

Prof. Abhijit Chakraborty

Abhijit Chakrabarti Ph.D. (Tech) is Professor of Electrical Engineering in Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur. He is the former Head of the Department, Electrical Engineering, IIEST Shibpur and former Vice- Chancellor of Jadavpur University. He is also the former Vice Chairman of West Bengal State Council of Higher Education, Government of West Bengal. He has published 132 research papers in peer reviewed international and national journals as well as in conferences. He has authored 17 books in electrical engineering. He is a member of EEAC of National Board of Accreditation, Government of India as well as visiting member of IET, UK in accreditation process of ADAMS, UK. He has visited foreign countries like Japan, USA and UK. He is a fellow of the Institution of Engineers, India and member of IET, UK. He is the recipient of Pandit Madan Mohan Malyavia award and Power Medal as well as best paper award (twice) for his research publications. He is member of different boards and committees in universities in India and expert member in numerous technical and standing committees. He has active interest in research related to Power System Engineering, Electrical Machines, Power Electronics and Electric Circuits.


Sl. No. Activities Time
1 Arrival of all dignitaries to the dais 4.00 pm
2 National Anthem 4.00 pm – 4.02 pm
3 Felicitation of all dignitaries 4:02 pm – 4:07 pm
4 Institute Flag Hoisting 4:07 pm – 4:10 pm
5 Lighting the Ceremonial Lamp 4:10 pm – 4:15 pm
6 Address by the Director NIT Meghalaya 4:15 pm – 4:25 pm
7 Address by the Chairman, BOG,  NIT Meghalaya 4.25 pm – 4.30 pm
8 Address by Guest-of Honor 4:30 pm – 4:35 pm
9 Recognition of Extraordinary Achievements by Faculty, Staff and Students of NIT Meghalaya 4.35 pm – 4:55 pm
10 Address by Chief Guest 4:55 pm – 5:05 pm
11 Memento distribution to all dignitaries 5.05 pm – 5.10 pm
12 Vote of Thanks 5.10 pm – 5.13 pm
13 Procedural Break 5.13 pm – 5.23 pm
14 Introduction & Felicitation of Extramural Speaker 5.23 pm – 5.28 pm
15 Extramural Lecture 5.28 pm – 5:58 pm
16 Vote of Thanks 5:58 pm ­- 6:00 pm
17 Cultural Events 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
18 Dinner 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm